Honours for Volunteers of the Club

Fred Isherwood Esq JP
In 1935, for the first time in over 50 years the club was called on to elect a new President and Fred Isherwood Esq, JP was unanimously elected.  Fred Isherwood had been an active swimmer, player, captain and secretary of the club.  He held this office until his death in 1949.

Fred Isherwood was also President of Manchester & District Swimming & Water Polo Association in 1907,  President of North Counties ASA in 1910 & 1911 and President of the Amateur Swimming Association (ASA) in 1926.  Mr Isherwood was also Treasurer of Northern Counties ASA from 1919 to 1945.  In 1946 he was re-elected as President of Northern Counties ASA and became the only man ever to hold the office twice.

His greatest swimming honour came in 1937 when he was chosen to take charge of the British Swimmers competing in the Empire Games in Australia.  His team triumphed in seven of the thirteen events.

T.T. Bradshaw Esq JP was elected as President of the Club in 1949 and served as President until his death in 1954.

Frank Isherwood was President of the Club from 1954 until his death in 1962.

John Cleworth
In 1950 - 1951 was elected as Secretary of Lancashire County Water Polo & Swimming Association. 
In 1954 - 1955 he became President of Bolton & District Swimming & Water Polo Association. 
In 1960 - 1961 he became President of Lancashire County Water Polo & Swimming Association

Mr Cleworth was connected with the club for over 60 years, as a swimmer, player, committee member, secretary (in the early post war years), Vice President from 1949 - 1971, when he was elected President of the club.  He has been a Life Member of the club since 1973.

Ernest Chadwick
Ernest was Secretary of Tyldesley Swimming & Water Polo Club for over 20 years, infact he was approached by some Associations to become their President.  He declined their invitations by saying "he was only interested in Tyldesley".

In 1975 he became President of the Club and in 1978 he became President of Lancashire County Water Polo & Swimming Association.  Ernest was then succeeded as President in 1980 by his wife Jenny Chadwick as President.

Over the years the club have continued to have representatives support the Local Associations, Lancashire County Water Polo & Swimming Association and Swim England North West (previously Northern Counties ASA) and have seen the following members of the club be recognised for their hardwork and commitment. 

Presidential Honours   click here

Club Presidents   click here